• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Highlight Films

Click to see Caleb

One of my favorite things in life is reviewing highlight films of my kids performing in their areas of giftedness. All my sons played high school football. I videotaped all their games and then put together highlight reels so we could relive the moments together. Watching those films, you would be surprised to hear that they ever lost a game! I often show a short clip of my youngest, Caleb, sacking a quarterback and returning an interception 96 yards for a touchdown when I speak to men’s groups just because it is so fun to remember.
It is a good thing to have a way of recalling the great moments of our lives and the events in our history that demonstrate God’s faithfulness. You never know when you will need that information available at your fingertips. Stephen had one of those critical experiences in Acts 7. He was arrested and brought before the Sanhedrin to give an account of the supposed trouble he was causing in Jerusalem. The high priest turned the floor over to Stephen with one simple question, “Are these charges true?” (v. 1)
In response, he delivered the equivalent of a verbal highlight film of the history of Israel from which he gained confidence. With no preparation, he reminded everyone present of the following events:

  • The calling of Abraham to give birth to the nation. (v. 2-4)
  • The miraculous birth of Isaac even though Abraham and Sarah were too old to become parents. (v. 5, 8 )
  • The exile of Israel for 400 years where they would serve as slaves. (v. 6-7)
  • The covenant of circumcision. (v. 8 )
  • The selling of Joseph into slavery. (v. 9)
  • The exaltation of Joseph in Egypt. (v. 10)
  • The move of Jacob and his family to Egypt (v. 11-14)
  • The death of Jacob in Egypt (v. 15-16)
  • The increase of Israel in Egypt and subsequent jealousy of the Pharaoh (v. 17-19)
  • The birth of Moses (v. 20)

And this is just part of his speech. It is obvious that he had applied himself to know his history. He must have reviewed the stories often and retold them numerous times. He was determined that the most important moments in his family history would not get lost over time.
It is a great reminder to me to keep my story alive. My experience of meeting Jesus because a movie, The Exorcist, scared me into reading the Bible needs to be told again and again. Understanding that there is a way for Jesus to live in our hearts because I read 1 John 4:4, “You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world,’ needs to be passed on to new generations. The practical skills God has allowed Pam and I to learn about priorities, making decisions and having healthy relationships needs to be proclaimed rather than protected. I tend to take these for granted because they are aspects of my journey but they need to be included in the highlights of my life.
Your life is the same way. God is doing a good work in your life but it is surrounded by mundane tasks and difficult days. A lot of our time on earth is boring and frustrating but scattered throughout our experiences are spectacular moments of God’s provision and faithful compassion which need to be told over and over. Don’t ever forget what is on the highlight reel of your life!

One Response

  1. Learning to slow down and record “highlight experiences” has been a good, but difficult discipline for me. Thank you for the challenge. It reminds me to make notes on a file I started in January called, “2011-connect the dots”…in an effort to record those “spectacular moments of God’s provision and faithful compassion” that I whiz past in daily life. I love the ah ha moment when I look over the list and see a picture or pattern that begins to emerge.
    Vickie

Leave a Reply

