• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Satisfaction

My granddaughter is one of my best teachers. Yesterday, she  approached me with one simple word, “Poppa.” She called to me because she wanted my attention. We talked about silly things and whatever we could see off the balcony of our house. We even played the simplest game of “I Spy” I have ever been a part of. You know how the game is supposed to be played. One person says, “I spy something green.” The other person then looks around and begins guessing. Instead, my granddaughter shouted out, “I spy a tree!” I then responded, “I spy a house.” And on it went. After a little while, she walked away content that all things were right in her world.

Haystack Rock,

The realization hit me that this is what our devotional life is all about. We spend enough time with God to renew our sense of well-being and contentment. We can’t fix everything in our lives and we certainly cannot control all the circumstances that affect us. We can, however, rediscover the source of strength every day. This is why words like those found in Psalm 16 resonate in our souls. God is the daily source of satisfaction in our lives and every time we remind ourselves of this truth, His peace and stability rise within us.

  • He is our place of safety – “In you I take refuge.1 LORD, you alone are my portion and my cup; you make my lot secure.5
  • He is what is good in us – “apart from you I have no good thing.2
  • He is our hope for the future – “surely I have a delightful inheritance.6
  • He is our greatest consultant – “I will praise the LORD, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me.7
  • He is our greatest source of courage – “With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.8
  • He knows your purpose in life – “You make known to me the path of life.11
  • His presence makes us feel better – “you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.11
  • In a world that is frustrating and irritating world, this is good news. If you are a thinking person, you are going to realize on a daily basis that things are not right in this world. The evidence of the fall of mankind is everywhere. Our homes take enormous amounts of work just to keep them clean and weed free. Our jobs require great focus and endurance. Our health deteriorates quickly unless we diligently exercise and manage our diets. Public policy seeks to justify human passions at every turn so that holding back evil is a constant pursuit. In a world like this, we all need a way to daily rejuvenate our perspective and renew our hope. My granddaughter reminded me that a little time with Jesus is enough to put contentment back in my soul.

    Leave a Reply

