• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Speak Their Language

I was walking to dinner last night at family camp when I got into a funny conversation with a four-year old boy.
“What did you do today?” I asked.
“We saw crabs on the beach by the big rock.”
“Wow, I bet that was fun.”
“Yeah, some of them were dead and we saw crab legs.”
“Crab legs, really?”
“Yeah, crabs need their legs to walk.”
“Well, how does a crab walk?” I asked hoping to get some kind of a funny demonstration.
Instead, he said, “They walk like karate.”
Needless to say, I was confused. I had no idea what karate had to do with crabs on the beach. I must have had a perplexed look on my face because his dad quickly explained to me that in his karate class they do crab walks as part of their warm up routine. Dad understood immediately because he spoke the same language.  I needed to have it explained to me in terms I could understand because I hadn’t been exposed to their world.
This is the same thing God does for us. He lives in a world we have yet to experience and He speaks a language we have yet to learn. He has initiated a relationship with us and has an adventurous plan for each of us to walk. He longs to communicate it with us but He cannot just spout it off in terms He understands but are foreign to us. This thought caused me to look at Psalm 34 a little different this morning. We are in this glorious partnership with God where He is orchestrating a plan that spans all of time and into eternity. It contains intricacies that infiltrate every culture at every point in history. If He was to give us the whole plan, it would be overwhelming but He wants us to be fully involved. He, therefore, gives us action words so we will know what to do even when we don’t know the why or how it is connected with the rest of the plan. Notice all the action words given to describe our part in the grand scheme:

  • 8 Taste and see that the LORD is good;
  • 9 Fear  the LORD, you his holy people,
  • 10 . . . seek  the LORD . . .
  • 13 keep your tongue from evil and your lips from telling lies.
  • 14 Turn  from evil and do good;
  • 17 The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them;

All these actions keep  us moving forward closer to the next discovery in our journey. We will never  have all the answers to all our questions about life, purpose, and the future.  We can, however, keep progressing because God will keep describing our part in  our language. Today I thank God for four-year olds who find crab legs on the  beach.

One Response

  1. Love your example, Bill. Meditating on the truth that the more time I spend with God (in His Word), the more I will “speak His language.”

Leave a Reply

