• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

What Can You Do in One Day?

What is the most you have accomplished in one day? I was lamenting yesterday over all the things on my to do list that didn’t get done. I had two small writing projects I was going to finish but didn’t. I had a spreadsheet to create on which I never got started. I was going to check online for future flights but had to leave the house shortly after I logged in to my account. It got me to thinking, what has a really productive day looked for me?
If I had to present a day from my life for a “productivity competition” I would probably put up the day we finished our first “in house” curriculum. I had remarkable clarity that day. We had been working on the project for a couple of months and it was very clear to me the steps we needed to take to get it ready for printing. I coordinated the efforts of two other writers, a graphic designer, an office manager and two interns. In addition, I did a final edit on the content and wrote 8 pages of additional assignments to add based on a brainstorming session we had in the morning meeting. Everyone was busy all day and we were proud of the final product. It was a strenuous day but we loved the results.
I got to thinking about my most productive day because I read Zechariah 3:9, “See, the stone I have set in front of Joshua! There are seven eyes on that one stone, and I will engrave an inscription on it,’ says the LORD Almighty, ‘and I will remove the sin of this land in a single day.”
This statement was written about 550 years before Christ came to the earth. It would have been a stunning statement for the people to hear. They were back in Jerusalem building the temple which would end up being the largest structure in the city. An entire tribe of Israel was set apart to be priests and temple workers. They had an elaborate system of sacrifices that were to be offered on a yearly basis to deal with the imperfections in their lives. It would have been impossible for them to imagine that in one day the sin of the land could be removed eliminating the need for the temple, the priests and the sacrifices. And yet there it was. They didn’t really understand how it could be done so they pondered the thought and trusted that God knew what He was talking about. It was too big, too impossible, however to make sense to their limited minds.
Then came Jesus. In one day He died on the cross and paid the penalty for all sin for all time. “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8) And that one act in one day “resulted in justification and life for all people.” (Romans 5:18)
The next time I have a frustrating day where I don’t get as much done as I was hoping, I am going to take a few minutes to marvel that in one day Jesus secured salvation for everyone who is willing to trust in Him. What a day!

One Response

  1. Hey Bill,
    Thanks for your words of wisdom for today. I can say a very large AMEN to your thoughts. I don’t know how many times I have lost sight of the incredible work of the Lord in a single day. WOW!!
    Glenn

Leave a Reply

