• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

No Filler

I had one of those small world experiences this week. The brother and sister-in-law of an individual who had been on our volunteer youth staff in Bakersfield, California attended the family camp I spoke at in Cannon Beach. I had met them once before at a wedding about twenty years ago but would not have recognized them if they hadn’t introduced themselves again. They had called his sister to tell her they were at camp and that I was speaking. In the course of the conversation, the question came up, “What did you learn so far that stuck with you?” Her response surprised me.
“The thought that I cannot get out of my mind is, ‘God didn’t create any filler.’”
It was a supporting statement I made in the midst of one message. It was not the main point and it was not something I emphasized although I do include in many messages because I get the sense from lots of people that they think they don’t really matter and I know it is not true. The idea touched something within her and she quickly identified three people in the past week that were encouraged by time spent with her.
Her response to this idea also got me thinking about all the people who are necessary to make my life work. Just in my return trip home from that same family camp the following people made my journey possible:
• The people who prepared my breakfast and lunch
• The man who drove me from the Oregon coast to the airport
• The lady at the ticket counter who tagged my luggage and printed my boarding pass
• The people at the security checkpoint who insured we would have a safe flight
• The individual at the gate who directed traffic during the boarding process
• The support personnel who filled the plane with fuel, cleaned the interior, and stocked the galley.
• The flight attendants who took care of the passengers
• The pilots who flew the plane
• The ground personnel who helped us park at the gate
• The baggage handlers who moved our suitcases from the plane to the baggage claim area
And those are just the ones I could think of. There are a myriad of others who built and maintained the road to the airport, serviced the landscaping, cleaned the carpets and the bathrooms, washed the windows, and policed the streets.
It helped me gain a new appreciation for Romans 12:5-8, “so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.”
Whatever you do today, do it with all your heart because your efforts are making other people’s success possible. There really is no filler!

One Response

  1. Thanks for the reminder, Bill. I was rather down last night; I guess I was feeling like “filler.” Yep, that would pretty well explain it! However, as I trace back through the day, I can see that my life had really touched many others (hopefully positively!) in a myriad of simple ways. We all fit into a piece of His plan each day.

Leave a Reply

