• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

PLANT it!

When I was growing up, my brother and I used to love watching the A Team. It was corny and silly but the heroic acts made us laugh and rejoice with the good guys in life. My favorite line of the show was “I love it when a plan comes together.” Even to this day, it thrills me when I experience moments of clarity or discovery that make things memorable or more effective in my life. I experienced that today with James 1:21 “Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.”
The idea of the word of God being planted in me suddenly got my attention. The picture of the bible having roots that go down into my soul, a trunk that rises up with branches that produce fruit stuck in my mind. I have known for a while there are five ways to interact with the bible to make it active in our lives but for some reason an acrostic occurred to me as I was reading that made it more memorable for me. Today my goal is to PLANT God’s word in my life so it can grow in me and influence me to become a man who pleases God and helps others.

Probe (2 Timothy 2:15 “a worker . . . who correctly handles the word of truth.) This is the process of studying God’s word so it makes sense to us. I am convinced the Bible was written so ordinary citizens could understand it but it is presented in a culture different from ours. It, therefore, requires study to translate the timeless principles into timely living.

Listen (Romans 10:17 “. . . faith comes from hearing . . . the word of Christ.) Hearing other people teach the Bible and relate how it is impacting their lives encourages growth in all of us. Just recently a friend of mine described how he used the description of love in 1 Corinthians 13 as a template for engaging in discussions with people he disagrees with. For example, “love is patient means I will take time to listen without interrupting. Love is kind means I will not be argumentative when I disagree.” It struck me as one of the most important things I have heard this year. Thanks James!

Acquaint yourself (Deuteronomy 17:19 “. . . he is to read it all the days of his life.”) There is no substitute for reading God’s word consistently. I don’t always get wowed by what I read but the more acquainted I become with the Bible, the more it makes sense in my everyday life.

Nail it down (Psalm 119:11 “I have hidden your word in my heart . . .) Memorizing specific verses makes them readily accessible when I need them the most.

Think it Over (Psalm 1:3 “. . . on his law he meditates day and night) Asking questions like, “How do I live this out? And how does this apply to my life?” energize God’s word in my life. It is true whether I live it out or not but it sure makes a difference in my life when I figure out how to make it real.

This is nothing new but it was fun to have it come together. I am looking forward to see what sprouts up as I PLANT God’s word in my life.

Leave a Reply

