• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Humbly Remarkable

It seems to be a hard thing to grasp that each and every one of us is a humbly remarkable individual. You have been created with a set of natural talents, influential traits, and a God-given dream in your heart. (Psalm 139:13-18) In addition, if you have trusted in Christ as your Savior you have been given a spiritual gift that is empowered by the Holy Spirit. “Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good.” (1 Corinthians 12:7).
Just this week I have interacted with people who have the following extraordinary abilities:
• One young man recently discovered that he has a lot of passion and insight for business. He has always worked hard but he found that he can see the way things ought to work in his company and the steps to get there are getting surprisingly clear to him. I was taken back when he said, “I hope I can keep this up and not lose the opportunity.”
• A missionary friend of mine is visiting in town. He has given an update three times with different groups. In 6 years of ministry in a town in Colombia, 2000 people have made professions of faith in Christ. I was excited to see his enthusiasm over this because he has been frustrated for years by the lack of facilities they have to work with and has wondered if he is really getting the work done for which he was called.
• I interacted with a young mom who has a very compassionate heart who is raising a son with a very compassionate heart. We were talking about how to help her son build discernment about how to really help people. They both see the needs around them very easily but then get overwhelmed trying to figure out what, if anything, they should do about it.
• I got to experience some of the best tri-tip I have ever eaten. A friend of mine has a passion for good food and he spent hours preparing it and cooking it to perfection. He was so excited about it he called me four times to give me updates on how it was progressing.
• I visited a friend who has been in the hospital for almost two weeks. He is in one of those frustrating times of waiting while the doctors are seeking a diagnosis for what is happening in his body. In our conversation, he said to me, “This is hard but God is already bringing good out of it.” He then listed four good things that have happened in relationships for which he has been praying for years.
I see this kind of talent in everyone I meet. Sadly it seems that people struggle to harness the giftedness they have been given. Some people get overwhelmed by their strength. It requires too much of them or their skills are underdeveloped to handle the power their talents produce in them. In response, they sabotage their opportunities. Some people are insecure with their talent. They refuse to believe they are as capable, influential, and effective as they were created to be. Rather than say, “I can do this forever because it is who I am.,” they say, “I hope this doesn’t fail . . .I hope I can sustain this . . . I will do this until someone more capable comes along.” Still others cancel out their influence with conceit. They become what comedian Brian Regan describes as “Me Monsters.” They push people away with pride. They alienate others with arrogance. They realize they are talented but they use it as a club that makes others feel less valuable.
I hope today you can accept the fact that you have been created in the image of God with a unique set of talents and natural influence. The world needs what you have to offer. Enjoy being humbly remarkable.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for this post. I really needed encouraged along these lines. I think God led me here this morning.

  2. Great pic of the Traeger! God DEFINITELY led me to some o’ DAT the other night! LOL

Leave a Reply

