• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

The Time for Wisdom is Now

Harding won 63-14

Overreacting is one of the easiest things to do. I attended my youngest son’s first football game of the season this past Saturday. He is a junior in college and playing free safety. On his first defensive play, he did a great job coming up from the secondary, “filling the hole,” and making the tackle on the running back for no gain. He popped up, grabbed his arm and slowly ran to the sideline. From the way he was holding his arm, I thought he had hurt his shoulder. I quickly made my way down to the railing of the bleachers to watch the athletic trainer check him out.
Instead of his shoulder being a problem, I noticed his right middle finger pointing in the wrong direction. His hand was pointing south but from the second knuckle his finger was pointing east! It was freaky looking. It would have been easy at this point to think we had a major problem. It would have been easy to conclude that he was done for the day. Without wisdom, it would have made sense to wrap up his hand and head for the hospital. The athletic trainer had seen this before, however. With a calm look on his face, he strategically probed Caleb’s finger. He pressed on the bone above and below the knuckle. He then turned his back to Caleb so he couldn’t see the procedure they were about to perform because he knew this would make my son calmer. With a skilled hand, he “popped” Caleb’s finger back into joint. Based on his wisdom, the trainer then taped the joint, “buddy taped” it to the ring finger and my son went back into the contest.
What looked like a major problem, turned out to be a dislocated finger. What appeared at first to be a drastic issue, turned out to be a painful inconvenience. The trainer knew because he had already acquired the wisdom.
This is the point of Proverbs 1:20, “Out in the open wisdom calls aloud, she raises her voice in the public square.” Wisdom is freely available to everyone every day. The key is to look for it before you need it. Today, while things are calm, uneventful and safe is the time to seek after wisdom and try to get it lodged into your soul. The danger comes when you wait for the crisis to beg for insight. I am really glad the trainer didn’t cry out, “Oh God, I have never seen anything like this before. Please give me wisdom right now to know what to do,” because it would have been too late.
There are three things I try to do every day to gain the wisdom I will need for my journey:
1. I ask for it. James 1:5 says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.”
2. I read words of wisdom. First from the Bible and then from other people who possess wisdom.
3. I ask the question, “How do I make this work in my life?” Knowledge asks, “What?” Selfishness asks, “Why?” Wisdom asks,”How?”
May God grant us the wisdom today that we will need tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

