• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Plug In

I was in the San Diego airport yesterday looking for a place to plug in my computer. Along the outside walls were rows of chairs with outlets underneath. I wandered around the perimeter only to find that every seat was taken. I was taken aback by the disappointment I felt within. If I powered up my laptop without plugging it in, I would drain my battery before I boarded the plane. I had plans to work on my computer during the flight and I knew my seat would not have an outlet so it was important to be fully charged before I traveled. I knew that if I could only plug in while I waited, everything would work out well. If I couldn’t connect to an outlet, I was going to be running on limited resources and would have to scale down my expectations and productivity.
So I decided to take another lap. As I finished my round, someone was just finishing up and getting ready to vacate their seat with the precious plug. I waited with strategic patience. I didn’t want this person to feel rushed but I wanted anyone else who was nearby to know that I was planning on taking this seat. Well, it worked. No one else rushed the bench so I didn’t have to fend anyone off.
Plugging in made it all work. I was able to get a couple of hours of work done while I charged the battery. I was able to do everything on the plane ride that I had planned. I was freed up from thinking too hard about how I was going to respond to life with limited resources. It was a good reminder to me that life goes better when I am “plugged in.” Two verses from Proverbs reminded me of that truth this morning:
“The fear of the LORD leads to life; then one rests content, untouched by trouble.” (Proverbs 19:23)
“The human spirit is the lamp of the LORD that sheds light on one’s inmost being.” (Proverbs 20:27)
As I was sitting in my “power chair” preparing for my journey, I noticed several others doing exactly what I had done earlier. They passed by, looked down to see that the row of chairs had electrical plugs, and then registered obvious disappointment on their faces. They needed to plug in just as I had. They had expectations for their day just as I had. They were hoping to board their planes fully charged just as I had.
It is a universal need for anyone who wants to pursue excellence. As the verse above says, “The human spirit is the lamp of the LORD.” When the lamp is lit, it energizes everything else. It introduces us to our dreams, sheds light on our opportunities, and points out areas of growth that would otherwise hinder us. For the lamp to do its work, however, it needs an energy source. It has potential without the fuel but it cannot operate.
As you plug into Jesus today, may God give you the energy you need to fulfill His plans for you.

2 Responses

  1. Pro 20:27 (NASB) “The spirit of man is the lamp of the LORD, Searching all the innermost parts of his being.” You can literally feel the Holy Spirit indwelling – It’s awesome! In that knowledge we can ask: Psa 139:23 “Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me and know my anxious thoughts;” and know in response to: Phl 4:6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let [our]requests be made known to God.” and know with certainty that: Phl 4:19 And my God will supply all [our] needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

    Take a moment to reflect on the awesome creator God in you; the one who is: Eph 4:6 one God and Father of all who is over all and through all and in all.” Col 1:17 “He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.”

    Rom 1:19 because that which is known about God is evident within [us]; for God made it evident to [us]. Rom 1:20 For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that [we]are without excuse.

    He never ceases to amaze me. What a fantastic life of blessing.
    In His richness <:
    Jc

Leave a Reply

