• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

The Right Information

It was one of those nights. I had directions to get to our hotel after enjoying dinner with my brother and his wife. It should have taken 10 minutes but we had the wrong the information. We realized pretty quickly that we were off track so we tried to interpret the directions differently to see if we could approach our home for the evening from another direction. We gave it our best but we were still operating with the wrong information. We managed to turn a 10 minute drive into a 45 minute excursion before finally arriving.
As we were preparing for our flight, we ran into another complication. We had too many boxes of books to take on the plane so we had to ship one home. It was late, however, so I had to find an all night shipping center. I asked the attendant working the hotel counter if he knew where one was. He was extremely helpful as he looked up directions on his computer, found the closest store and made me a print out. I enthusiastically got in my car and drove to the destination only to find it closed. Once again, I had the wrong information. I had to return the hotel and look a little deeper to find a place that was indeed open. I printed new directions, followed a different route and succeeded in getting my package shipped.
Twice in one night, I was sincerely committed to a course of action that was destined to fail. There was nothing wrong with my desire and there was certainly nothing wrong with my effort. The problem was with the information.
I have noticed that a lot of people live this way. They are sincerely motivated and they are putting in plenty of effort. They are simply working on the wrong information. The apostle Paul started out this way. He was enthusiastically committed to what he believed was true. On the day he met Jesus, he discovered new information that gave his life a whole new focus accompanied with confidence, boldness, and fearless determination. “On the contrary, by setting forth the truth plainly we commend ourselves to everyone’s conscience in the sight of God.” ( 2 Corinthians 4:2)
The truth changed his focus and redirected his passions. He was still committed. He was still sincere. His direction, however, was dramatically different. The journey no longer led to disappointment. The path no longer ended up at a closed-door. The right information gave him the guts to put up with any difficulty, outlast any obstacle and strategically utilize the resources available to him.
I didn’t enjoy being off track because of incorrect information trying to find a hotel and a shipping center. I especially do not want to be off track with erroneous data in my life. I thank God for revealing the truth about life through His word so I am committing myself again today to enthusiastically follow what I know is true.

2 Responses

  1. OMGosh Bill, I’m sitting here laughing! (Not at you, but with you…err, are you laughing?) I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone through that myself in all of my business travels. PLENTY. Always frustrating. The lesson I’ve learned over the years: when you’re on the road things always take longer than you think they will or they should. It IS a good opportunity to look up though and lean on Jesus for patience and support.

Leave a Reply

