• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Beyond Me

Last night I was moderating a chat room online when I suddenly got disconnected from the server. I had been in conversation with 14 people, had questions waiting in a moderator box for me to answer and was in mid-sentence when everything just stopped. The list of questions disappeared. The chat room flew off the screen only to be replaced with the original login page. I was stunned at how helpless I felt. Prior to being disconnected, I was talking with people from all over the country. I was fielding questions, giving my perspective and receiving messages back from interested people. Then, in a flash, it all ended. It happened so fast that it jolted me into thinking. Wow, I have been taking it for granted that I can do much more with technology than I could ever do on my own. I could never see this many people face to face in this many locations. I could never carry on this many individual conversations in person. I could never say what I am now writing and have this many people pay attention to it while they are sitting in the comfort of their homes. With the help of technology, however, I can have a bigger influence with less effort than my human abilities could ever afford. This is the way the Christian life works. With Christ in us, we are able to have more power, more wisdom, more peace, more understanding about life than we could ever manufacture on our own. Because Jesus figured out a way to set us free and place His Spirit in us, He can work in us to get us to think, feel and act in ways the human soul would never accept. We can love sacrificially, serve enthusiastically, decide truthfully, and live victoriously. Paul was trying to communicate the privilege of this when he wrote Galatians 2:20, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” He was free to make commitments, free to give, free to love those who had been redeemed, free to suffer, free to be content, free to confront, free to train others, and the list goes on. Activities he despised before knowing Jesus were now a privilege. People who were impossible to love before meeting his Savior were now teammates in his life. Goals that seemed ridiculous before the presence of the Holy Spirit were now cherished pursuits. As I think about the rest of my week, I am looking for the strength and focus Christ brings to life that makes it possible for me to do what is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

