• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Who You Were Meant To Be

So, the question, “What kind of person do I want to be?” is still hovering in my thinking so I decided to take another look at Ephesians 1. I know there is a profound definition of who we are in Christ in this chapter and I figured a reminder would do me good. I was not disappointed.
• We are spiritually rich. “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.” (v. 3) Everything we need for spiritual vitality, eternal influence and fulfilling God’s plan has already been given to us.
• We were designed to represent Christ on earth. “For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.” (v. 4) Holy means we are set apart for a purpose. Blameless means we can carry out that purpose according to its design. It comes from the temple where silver and gold vessels were set apart for bringing the sacrifices to the altar. In the same way, our lives and our words carry the message of forgiveness to a waiting world. I am amazed because I am so aware of my shortcomings, as I am sure you are, and yet the presence of the Holy Spirit in us makes us more than adequate for the job because we represent Christ the same way a child represents his or her family since “”he predestined us for adoption to sonship . . .” (v. 5)
I believe this contrast gives us a mandate for cultivating a sense of humor. We are all imperfect people representing a perfect God. If we take ourselves too seriously, we will get overwhelmed and overbearing. To keep my perspective clear I like to collect funny sayings. Here are a few of my favorites:

“One nice thing about egotists: They don’t talk about other people.”
“Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.”
“I doubt, therefore I might be.”
“Age is a very high price to pay for maturity.”
“If all the world is a stage, where is the audience sitting?”
“If one synchronized swimmer drowns, do the rest have to drown too?”
“If the #2 pencil is the most popular, why is it still #2?”

 
“If you try to fail, and succeed, which have you done?”

 
• We have supernatural wisdom. “With all wisdom and understanding, he made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure . . .” (v. 8-9) The presence of Christ in us gives us the mind of Christ and the insight of His Spirit. In every decision, every question, and every circumstance we have the wisdom of God to work with. As a result, we can have peace in stormy situations, confidence in challenging decisions, grace with difficult people and determination in all our pursuits. To be sure, we don’t always take advantage of His wisdom but it is there at all times.
Heavenly Father, give me wisdom today for my decisions, the willingness to laugh at my shortcomings, and the confidence to know I can do what you want me to do.

Leave a Reply

