• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

It’s Hard to Imagine

There are some things in life that are hard to imagine even though they are true. I recently came off an extended trip where I was in 6 cities in as many days. I met interesting people and did interesting work but it got a little confusing after a while. On one of the days, I forgot which hotel room I was in. I got on the elevator after working out and couldn’t remember what floor I was on or what the room number was. I, of course, went to the wrong floor and slid my electronic key in the wrong door. I finally had to go to the counter, answer enough personal questions about myself to convince the attendant I was who I said I was so I could be pointed in the right direction. I told a friend of mine about the experience only to hear him respond, “I have done that exact same thing but never when I was sober!” I laughed because it is hard to imagine I could lose track of where I was staying.
In a much more positive vein, there are events coming in the future that are equally hard to imagine, even though they are true. A day is coming when Jesus will begin His 1000 year reign on the earth which will change life as we know it. A few of the characteristics of this time are mentioned in Isaiah 2.
• Worshipping God will be the most normal of activities. “In the last days the mountain of the LORD’s temple will be established as the highest of the mountains; it will be exalted above the hills, and all nations will stream to it.” (v. 2) The truth about God and the presence of God will be welcomed in public life rather than minimized and relegated to private conversations. Public officials and dedicated citizens will no longer be afraid of God’s opinion.
• People will be hungry to connect to God and the people of Israel. “Many peoples will come and say, ‘Come, let us go up to the mountain of the LORD . . . He will teach us his ways, so that we may walk in his paths.’” (v. 3) God will be recognized as the smartest, most loving, most compassionate, and wisest being that has ever lived. As such, He will be sought out and His ways will be pursued enthusiastically.
• Nations will no longer be at war with one another. “They will beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks. Nation will not take up sword against nation, nor will they train for war anymore.” (v. 4) The world will be such that higher goals than self-preservation and personal power will captivate us. The question of power (who should be the leader and who can gain the most influence) will be settled because Jesus is personally leading the world. Since He is all-knowing and all-powerful, there will be no need to jockey for control. Instead, the pursuit of productivity, peace, and the righteous passions of life will dominate our thinking.
It is hard to imagine a world like this but we have never seen a society with Jesus as its King. We are familiar with Jesus as a baby and as the Savior of the world. We have not yet experienced Him sitting on the throne ruling with authority. That day is coming as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow.
The next time you have one of those experiences that is hard to imagine, let it remind you that we have an unimaginably good future ahead of us.

One Response

  1. That’s pretty funny Bill; a sure sign you’ve been on the road too long! I don’t think about heaven or the mil’lennial reign of Jesus here on earth too often. I will try to remind myself of the great plans and future God has in store for us when I experience the “hard to imagine” times.

Leave a Reply

