• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Willing

I get caught up on a regular basis thinking I have to be spectacular. I watch an athletic contest on TV and I think I need to be like one of the superstars on the field. I watch the news and I am tempted to think our national leaders need to be superstars which would then mean I need to be on top of every decision and every situation if I am going to expect it of them. I watch my grandkids play and I think I need to be an awesome “poppa” if I want them to reach their potential. I find it easy to put expectations on myself and to conclude it is all up to me. Then I read passages such as Isaiah 6 and I am reminded that life is a partnership. I am a full partner so I need to bring it every day with full focus and energy. But, I have a partner who makes a much bigger contribution than I could ever imagine.
“I saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him were seraphim [angels] . . . And they were calling to one another:
“Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty;
the whole earth is full of his glory.”
At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.” (v. 1-4)
What a great reminder that I know an awesome God. He is more powerful, authoritative, compassionate, and capable than anyone else I know. When He shows up, things tremble. My first reaction when I read this today was to say, “I am with Him.”
My second reaction was the realization that He doesn’t really need my help. My abilities compared to His look simple and childlike. My words sound immature, my thoughts appear undeveloped and my strength looks puny. But, He has called me to be a partner. “Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?’” (v. 8 )The God whose words created the world is looking for a spokesman. The God who is omnipresent is looking for an ambassador. The God who came with grace and forgiveness is looking for someone to send so that others may hear the good news. I know He could do it without me but He is asking for partners.
The most appropriate response is simply to be willing. He doesn’t need help but He wants my involvement. He will provide the message, the strength and the wisdom. He simply wants people who want to be involved in His plan to tell the world of His love, grace, purpose and compassion. Isaiah got it and merely said, “Here am I. Send me!” (v. 8 ) He didn’t say, “I know how to do this, let me handle it.” He didn’t say, “It will never happen without me so let me rescue the situation.” He didn’t say, “I am the man so watch me perform.” He simply said, “I am willing.”
I thank God that He has a place for you and me in His plan so despite my shortcomings and my feelings of inadequacy I choose today to be willing.

One Response

  1. Amen, I’m so glad the Lord chose me and HE has a plan for my life. Even in the valley we are in right now, I know HE has a Master Plan for us that will be revealed despite our shortcomings…We got to keep trust HIM and living for HIM. Thanks for the great Reminder!

Leave a Reply

