• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Press On

The apostle Paul was one of the most ambitious men in history. He accomplished as much in a short period of time as any pioneer who ever lived. When you simply look at his accomplishments, you might be tempted to think he faced few obstacles but just the opposite is true. He experienced all the difficulties we face and more but he continued to do what he could to influence who he could. He experienced the normal struggles of aging so he wrote, “See what large letters I use as I write to you with my own hand!” (Galatians 6:11)
It had to be frustrating but he did not let it stop him. This stood out to me because I had a frustrating weekend technologically. In our modern world, I have become dependent upon an active connection to the internet. It is easy to stay connected when I am in my local office but it does not always work smoothly when I am traveling. I was with an exciting group of believers in the Greater Toronto area so when I got to our hotel room, I immediately put in the code for the wireless connection. I was relieved at first because it worked well for any website that did not require a login. I couldn’t, however, access online banking, my airline account to choose seats for the trip home, my blog site or my rental car account. It would have been easier if I could have gotten to those sites as I could have worked more efficiently and influenced more easily.
There were a number of things I had planned that I was not able to do and I was tempted to get frustrated and angry about it. There was, however, plenty that could be done. I was able to speak to the crowd with Pam. I was able to pray with lots of people. I was able to talk through issues to help people grow. I was able to connect with some great friends so we could encourage each other for the next season of our lives.
It was a good reminder to focus on what I can do. It would have been easy to miss out on the accomplishments of the weekend by staying focused on the interruptions.
Colonel George Washington Goethals, the man responsible for the completion of the Panama Canal, had big problems with the climate and the geography. But his biggest challenge was the growing criticism back home from those who predicted he’d never finish the project.
Finally, a colleague asked him, “Aren’t you going to answer these critics?”
“In time,” answered Goethals.
“When?” his partner asked.
“When the canal is finished.”
Press on because there is always something you can do.

Leave a Reply

