• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Team Magic

I had a meeting with the guys last night and we were discussing the desire we all have in our hearts to do something in our lives that is worthwhile because it is bigger than us. At one point, Scott looked at me and made the following observation. “Bill, it seems to me you are an independent, self-reliant individual. You can see what needs to be done, make a plan and get after it. In fact, I think all of us tend to be that way. There is, however, something very powerful that happens when we become part of a team that learns to depend on each other. I have gifts that you don’t have. You have talents that I don’t possess. When we get them working together something big happens. It is almost magical and it is exciting to be a part of.”
I am sure I don’t remember his quote exactly but it sure got me thinking. I have grown up in an individualistic culture and I was raised in a controlling, uncooperative home. I learned early in life that it is safest to rely on myself. My strongest memories in life, however, are the times I was part of a team.
• Throwing a touchdown pass on my first series as a varsity quarterback.
• Losing the league championship to our cross town rivals even though we looked better than they did in our uniforms.
• Leading 60 high school students on a five-day, 400 mile bicycle trip along the California Coast.
• Learning how to serve as a team during a weeklong vacation bible school campaign among migrant farm worker’s families.
• Working with dedicated church leaders to remodel and rejuvenate a small congregation.
• Watching ordinary men and women become influential small group leaders.
I could go on but the point is we all accomplish more when we learn to depend upon one another. It seems to be a theme running in my life at the moment because Isaiah 17:7-8 jumped off the page at me this morning, “In that day people will look to their Maker and turn their eyes to the Holy One of Israel. They will not look to the altars, the work of their hands.” It struck me that we can be so self-reliant we will even make our own Gods to worship. We have the Creator of life with unlimited power and perspective at our disposal and yet we settle for “the work of our hands.” Rather than go to the smartest person in the universe for advice, we come up with our own schemes and rely on our own logic. Rather than join God’s team and ask, “Where do you need me to play and what do you want me to do?” we devise our own plans and hope that God will endorse them. That doesn’t mean we don’t use our own creativity and skills to push forward in life because every person on a team is vital. It is just that life is a team sport and the team functions best when there is one head coach.
Thanks Scott for the reminder that there is no limit to what we can accomplish when we are willing to work as a team and let the team get the credit.

One Response

  1. Thanks Bill, a great reminder of how the Body is meant to function together.

Leave a Reply

