• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Getting Used to Quickly

It started out like any other day. The alarm went off at the normal time. Pete got out of bed, had his first cup of coffee and got ready for work. He and his colleagues started their daily pursuits in their career like any other normal working day. In fact, it was a rather frustrating day. They worked diligently but circumstances didn’t cooperate very well so the results of the day were unimpressive. They spent more time on maintenance and practicing their skills than on actually achieving any measurable goal.
Then, without any pre-planning, a local preacher asked to borrow his vehicle so he could stand on it and deliver an impromptu sermon. Pete liked this preacher and had nothing better going on this day so he agreed. After the sermon was over, this unassuming preacher challenged them to go back to work and do exactly what they had been doing all day long.
You can almost hear Pete’s thoughts. This preacher borrows my work vehicle and now he thinks he is an expert at what I do for a living. What a waste of time but there is an audience. If I blow off this man, it will affect my reputation. If I take his advice, I am going to be throwing away a couple of hours. I don’t want to do this but I guess I have no choice.
Reluctantly, Peter, James and John loaded up their nets, got back in their boats and went out to the same waters where they had caught nothing earlier that same day. “When they had done so, they caught such a large number of fish that their nets began to break.” (Luke 5:6)
Suddenly, life had changed. The man they thought was just a local preacher proved He had authority over nature. Peter’s self-confidence quickly became self-awareness, “Go away from me, Lord; I am a sinful man!” (v. 8 ) Their careers were transformed with a single statement, ““Don’t be afraid; from now on you will fish for people.” (v. 10) Before they could even process the magnitude of what had just happened, “they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him.” (v. 11)
As I look back on my life, the biggest steps have happened quickly. I simply went to a movie at the age of 16 and was confronted with my need for a Savior. I simply went to a leadership conference at 19 having no idea I was going to meet my life partner. On an otherwise uneventful day, I heard the words, “We are going to be parents!” I asked Jim Conway to mentor me as a pastor having no idea that one day, out of the blue, he would challenge Pam and me to become authors. At a simple visit to the doctor’s office for a sinus infection, I was asked the question, “How long have you had high blood pressure?”
These moments changed my life quickly and unexpectedly. It was impossible at the beginning of each of these days to predict how important they were but each of them led to key decisions and sweeping adjustments in my life.
It has become part of the adventure of life for me. Today could be one of those days. Of course, today could just be another routine day of preparation getting me ready for one of those days. Either way, I want to live today with the anticipation that the next time Jesus makes a big change in my life, it will probably happen quickly.

2 Responses

  1. Hey Bill,
    Last Friday started out like any other day. I was thinking that it might be a good day to go to the beach since we had some free time. About 9 am we received a phone call that a son of a friend had died during the night. He was 35. After visiting the family in the morning we went to the funeral home in the afternoon and did an impromptu prayer time where 4 people prayed to receive Christ as Lord and Savior. On Saturday we did a service at the funeral home and at least 10 more people prayed to receive Christ. On a “routine” day the lives of at least 14 were changed forever. In the hands of the Lord there are no “routine” days.
    Glenn

  2. Whether one turns right or left at a corner, the day is totally changed. So absolutely true: there are no routine days.

Leave a Reply

