• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Winning the Battle for Today

“May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight.” (Psalm 19:14) King David was having a good day. He was thinking clearly and making solid decisions. For the moment, he could clearly see that God had revealed Himself in His creation and through His word. “The heavens declare the glory of God (v. 1) . . . The decrees of the LORD are firm (v. 9) . . . They are more precious than gold (v. 10).”
These two thoughts are pretty basic. It is pretty clear that our world has a Creator. I just had the privilege to spend a week at Sandy Cove Retreat Center in Maryland. It was stunningly beautiful. A forest of trees led to the bank of the North East River. One evening lightning decorated the sky accompanied by booming thunder and pouring rain. The next evening ushered in a beautiful sunset with horizontal streaks of red, orange and yellow contrasted with backlit clouds and trees. On a more intricate scale, the spiders were busy spinning webs on every handrail we could find. I wasn’t too excited about it when I walked through one of these webs on the first day. It was sticky and clingy and irritating. It was also hard to appreciate the storm at first since it made everything humid amidst the high summer temperatures. I found myself fighting with myself to remember these are good things that declare the creativity and compassion of the God I love.
It is equally clear that God Himself authored the Bible so it is not like any other book on earth. Everyone who reads, hears or examines God’s word reacts to it. Hopefully it is a positive reaction. In Psalm 19, David was experiencing one of those great moments in life as he realized God’s word is perfect, trustworthy, right, radiant, pure and firm (v. 7-9). Anyone who makes decisions in life that are consistent with God’s truth will, as a result, discover wisdom, joy and strength.
It sounds easy at moments like this. I am sitting still, thinking through my day, deliberately focused on personal growth. The day will not stay like this, however. It will be filled with responsibility, stress inducing encounters and real challenges. The realities of life tend to expose the imperfections we easily hide when life is easy. David was all too aware of this so he prayed, “But who can discern their own errors? Forgive my hidden faults. Keep your servant also from willful sins; may they not rule over me.” (v. 12-13)
It is a needed reminder that I must win the battle for today. Yesterday’s victories and setbacks are done. They offer strength for future challenges but they don’t take the place of what I must do today. In my soul is the desire to do my best. Alongside that desire is the crazy notion that stress can be relieved by certain unhealthy activities. Anger, lust, laziness, manipulation and complaining can seem like welcome friends even though I know they are parasites.
But for now, I will join David in asking God for the grace to win today’s battles. “May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.” (v. 14)

One Response

  1. Wow..Heavenly Father, let the words of v14 be on my lips at the beginning of each day. Let my attitude and my actions today be pleasing in your sight!
    Amen

Leave a Reply

