• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

He Did It!

My two-year old granddaughter recently served as a flower girl at a wedding. She tenuously walked down the aisle throwing rose petals on the floor and into the crowd. When she reached the end, she turned to her mom in the crowd and proclaimed, “I did it. I did it.” It was, of course, my favorite moment of the ceremony.
I have been a fan of saying, “Celebrate every victory,” because there is something special about the breakthrough moments of life both large and small. In that light, I was fascinated by the way Psalm 22 ends, “. . . future generations will be told about the Lord. They will proclaim his righteousness, declaring to a people yet unborn: He has done it!” (v. 30-31) It was curious to me because most of Psalm 22 does not sound good.

“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (v. 1)
“My God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer.” (v. 2)
“But I am a worm and not a man, scorned by everyone, despised by the people.” (v. 6)
“. . . trouble is near and there is no one to help.” (v. 11)
“. . . all my bones are out of joint. My heart has turned to wax.” (v. 14)
“. . . they pierce my hands and my feet.” (v. 16)
“They divide my clothes among them and cast lots for my garment.” (V. 18)

We, of course, have the advantage of being able to look back on this song from the vantage point of the New Testament. The Psalmist is describing the future crucifixion of the Savior. It serves as a powerful reminder to each of us that the darkest experiences are often the beginning of God’s greatest story in our lives. The crucifixion looked like a defeat. Jesus was really dead. He was actually buried. His followers honestly thought it was over and done. They had staked their hope in the Great Teacher from Nazareth only to watch Him suffer a humiliating demise. It appeared as if their hope had evaporated in a short period of time.
The story didn’t end there, however. Jesus actually rose from the dead. He defeated death. He paid the price we couldn’t afford for eternal life we didn’t deserve. What people thought was a tragic ending to a well-intentioned life turned out to be the greatest act of human history.
In a fallen world, I will need to get used to the fact that every great story is a story of redemption. We are all imperfect so we will make mistakes. We live in an imperfect world so we will experience hardship. We are all connected so the actions of others may negatively impact our lives. Earthly life has a tragic side so any of us may suffer unimaginable obstacles. In the midst of it all, God is prepared to redeem. He takes broken things and somehow makes them useful. He takes tragic experiences and somehow makes them victorious. He takes shattered lives and somehow makes them stories of hope.
When I was young, I wanted to tell a story of victory, escape from pain and great accomplishments. I have grown to be more content with a story of redemption. “He has done it!” (v. 31)

One Response

  1. Amen…he has done it…and he lives!!!

Leave a Reply

