• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

The Way It Is

“I was very humbled by the experience. I never thought it would be us running back with our tails between our legs. But, I have a new appreciation for what God is doing right here in our home town. I don’t think my whole heart was into what was happening here. I always wanted to go somewhere else to do something great for God when my place was here all along. I have a better focus since I realized this is the way it is for me.”
That is part of a conversation I had with a friend recently. He sincerely loves people and is faithfully involved with a local church. For years, he felt the same restlessness I have wrestled with in my heart. All of the prayers of discontent I have voiced over the years echoed in my mind as he was talking:
“I want to do more for you, Jesus.”
“I will go anywhere for you.”
“Lord, send me where the real need is.”
“Help me find my sweet spot of service to you.”
“Show me what I can do that will make a difference in my world.”
Mixed with contentment, these would be great prayers but so often in my experience these were request for the horizon. I was looking past my current situation yearning for God to fulfill the ideal longings in my heart. I had an ideal picture of what my marriage should look like. I had an ideal picture of what my career should look like. I had an ideal picture of how I should feel about my life. I had an ideal picture of the story I should be able to tell of how God was working in my life. What I have come to realize is that God has always been doing in His real work while I was dreaming about the ideal work.
This realization rose to the surface this morning as I read Psalm 31 and 32. “The LORD preserves those who are true to him, but the proud he pays back in full.” (Psalm 31:23) “Many are the woes of the wicked, but the LORD’s unfailing love surrounds the one who trusts in him.” (Psalm 32:10) I was challenged by two phrases: “true to him . . . trusts in him.” It is easy to talk about God as my Creator who made me the way I am for His purpose. It is quite another to be true to Him and to trust Him when circumstances don’t match my dreams. I am prone to the kind of pride that believes I should have an equal say with God in the plans of my life. I fight the arrogance that believes my ideas are just as good as God’s ideas about my life. I wrestle with the self-centered belief that my life is bad if I feel bad about my circumstances. When I read, “the proud he pays back in full,” it kind of bothered me because I tend to think these kind of words apply to people who are obviously proud. This morning it struck me this is why many of my plans don’t work out. They are my plans loaded with my expectations of how life ought to be. God frustrates those efforts in a loving attempt to get me to do His plan with His help.
My friend was obviously wrestling with the same things. He had chased his dream only to discover it was simply his dream. God’s dream for his life had been in operation all along but my friend was looking past it. He has some recovering to do because it is hard to humbly realize we have sincerely not been “true to Him or trusted in Him.” I am excited for him at the same time because “The LORD preserves those who are true to him and surrounds the one who trusts in him.”

One Response

  1. Good morning Bill, your blog this morning really brought home a thruth. I have been wanting to do great and wonderful things for the Lord. But, He has me where He wants me to be. Lord help me to fulfill your purpose for my life.
    Glenn

Leave a Reply

