• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Personal Security

I have the privilege of traveling quite a bit for my career. I am often asked the question by friends, “Are you ever afraid to get on an airplane and fly?” I appreciate the inquiry because it comes from people who sincerely care about me and my family. They want me to be safe and would like me to be around for a long time. It also makes sense since an airplane is basically a flying building with precious human cargo and mishaps can happen.
My response is usually something like, “I believe I will be on earth just as long as God’s purpose for me is in play. I trust that God will provide personal security for me. It also appears to me that when God’s plan for me is finished, it will be time to go. For me, this explains why some people survive the most horrendous circumstances while others lose their lives in some of the most benign ways.”
The apostle Paul experienced God’s personal security in Acts 27. He was being transported to Rome to stand trial before Caesar. As was the custom of the day, he was traveling by boat. It was, however, late Fall which means it was common for storms to arise and wreak havoc with ships trying to cross from Asia Minor to Europe. As sailing became increasing rough, Paul said to those on board, “’Men, I can see that our voyage is going to be disastrous and bring great loss to ship and cargo, and to our own lives also.’ But the centurion, instead of listening to what Paul said, followed the advice of the pilot and of the owner of the ship.” (v. 10-11)
Things went from bad to worse so the crew took every human step they knew to lighten the load, strengthen the ship and steer to safety. When all these attempts failed, Luke reported the morale aboard ship in verse 20, “When neither sun nor stars appeared for many days and the storm continued raging, we finally gave up all hope of being saved.” From a human point of view, their lives were over and there was nothing they could do about it.
From a divine point of view, however, God wasn’t done with Paul. “Paul stood up before them and said: ‘Men, you should have taken my advice not to sail from Crete; then you would have spared yourselves this damage and loss. But now I urge you to keep up your courage, because not one of you will be lost; only the ship will be destroyed. Last night an angel of the God to whom I belong and whom I serve stood beside me and said, “Do not be afraid, Paul. You must stand trial before Caesar; and God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.”’” (v. 21-24)
If you finish the story, you will discover that the ship was indeed lost but the lives of all aboard were spared. I remember when I heard John MacArthur, teacher on the radio program Grace to You, say something to the effect, “If the people aboard this plane realized that I am being protected by Almighty God until His plan for my life is complete, they would thank me for being on board because it means their lives are protected also.”
So, I face my day today with courage. God has a plan for my life and will provide the personal security that is necessary for that plan to be completed. Since the same is true for you also, may God give each us the assurance that we can face whatever today ushers in because God is graciously and powerfully watching over us.

Leave a Reply

