• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

Honoring Mom

Mom with her youngest great-granddaughter

Today is my mom’s 82nd birthday. I am grateful I have a mom because I literally would not be here without her. Ephesians 6:2-3 states, “Honor your father and mother—which is the first commandment with a promise— that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.” Just like you, I have an imperfect mom so I could easily spend time telling you the things I wish had been different. Today, however, I simply want to say that my life has been enriched in many ways by the woman God chose to be my mom.
• I am grateful she paid the price to give me life. I have watched my wife progress through three pregnancies. It is gloriously uncomfortable, strenuous, and challenging. My mom endured that so I could be here.
• I am grateful she faithfully stayed at the task of raising me. I have raised three kids with my wife and am aware of the sleepless nights, relentless schedule, demanding need to discipline, and confusing moments of “what do I do next?” that accompany being a parent. My mom persevered.
• I am grateful for a legacy of creativity. My mom thinks creatively all the time. It gets funny sometimes because she connects dots that don’t necessarily connect but it is always creative. Most recently, she explained to me how our state would reward you with winning the Lottery if they decided you were a local hero. It is, of course, not true but my mom described it with vibrancy and enthusiasm. Much of my mom’s creative genius has been buried by fear but I still see in her an insatiable appetite to entertain new ideas, pursue new solutions and dream of new adventures.
• I am grateful for her DNA. My mom is still strong and active. She does yard work every day. She walks at a brisk pace. She still does her own housework, maintains a storehouse of food, and explores the internet. My confidence that I will live a long, active life is high when I look at the energy my mom has after 8 decades of living.
• I am grateful for a mom who is independent. Again, fear has isolated my mom from many who would have benefited from her gifts but she developed a legacy for me and my siblings that served us well. My sister, my brother and myself have all been willing to independently figure out who we are, what we love to do and what risks we need to take to get there. We have all flown around the world more than the average person. We have all found careers we are willing to put focused effort into. We have all discovered causes we care about that have been worth sacrificing for.
• I am grateful for her commitment to my dad. This year, they celebrated their 59th wedding anniversary. They had significant disagreements over the years but my mom stayed at it. My dad had a serious stroke in his late forties that altered his physical capabilities but my mom stayed at it. It has been an imperfect journey but they took the whole trip together.
I can only hope that I improve on the legacy and give to my kids, grandkids and great grandkids reasons to be proud that God chose for them to be a part of our family.

One Response

  1. Bill: I strive to see the good in things as you do regarding your mom! Love you and glad we married so well! Erin

Leave a Reply

